Posted by: kimmuel | 12/06/2012

Fear and the Grass Beyond the Fence


 

Prison Min – April Post

In the past, I’ve have been invited to serve in the Prison Ministry but all the persuasions and encouragements fell on my deaf ears. Actually, I can switch my hearing to on or off most of the times, especially in “bumili ka nga ng suka” moments.🙂

So why did I refuse to serve in Prison in the past? The answer was just plain and simple – fear.  It is the fear of the unknown; the fear of failure and the fear of rejection.

 It is the fear that I felt when I accepted to head the Prison Ministry, knowing that I have a lot of things on my hand. It is the same fear that I felt when I first visited Bilibid Prison and saw these people with strong personalities and loud voices.  Right at that moment, I told myself: “How can I control a program with all these people?  How could my voice be heard when there are a lot of loud of voices?” It is the same fear that I felt when I had to lead the talk, be a host and speaker for the first time outside of the Parish of St. Jude.

I just had no other choice but to go forward, let go and let God.

Facing those fears lead me to the other side of the fence, to explore areas outside my comfort zone. Yes, those fears are still present but something other than that fills my cup and makes the fear overflow. It is the feeling of service that is one of a kind. It is service that pushes you to the limit, physically tiring, financially draining but emotionally fulfilling. As they say, true love hurts and similarly, true service hurts in a way or another.

But I think that there is a Great Source of all of our courage and Isaiah 61:1 says it all:

The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me,
Because the LORD has anointed me
To bring good news to the afflicted;
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to captives
And freedom to prisoners;

This is exactly what we felt in our service last April 2012. We came at the prison service expecting to just support their program. To our surprise and due to some reasons, we became an instant music ministry, speakers and sharers. We had to call SFC friends for the lyrics of the songs for praise and worship, and have instant meeting for the morning’s program.

But everything we needed was there.  We had friends who were available to answer our calls and tell us the exact lyrics of the songs. We had a guitarist and an instant music min as some members of the WESTB1A Music Ministry were present. We had a great host. I also had a stock knowledge on the topic which I shared with the inmates. My partner also has an appropriate sharing for the talk. Everything just went well and connived for our cause. It’s like the universe conspired with us. God did provide for us.

Indeed, the spirit of the Lord is upon us. When we face our fears and trust in the Lord, all will be well. And after facing those fears, we can now enjoy playing in the grass at the other side of the fence.

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you. – Deuteronomy 31:6

We would like to invite our brothers and sisters to join us serving the Prison Ministry this coming June 17, 2012. Kitakits!


Responses

  1. We can always use fear for our own advantage🙂 We have God as our back up..I believe we will have a lot of stories to tell as we serve Him🙂 I honor you Kimmy….

  2. “As they say, true love hurts and similarly, true service hurts in a way or another.” – Talagang pinilit na isingit ang love kimm fidel! aha!.. nakakaumay! Joke lang partner..hehehe

    Anyway.. for me, it’s a good shot!..high five..😉

    Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Categories